Logo Northern Lit Awards Final


Northern libraries recognizing Northern authors

Ontario Library Service-North, in conjunction with Northern Ontario Public Libraries, is pleased to announce the twelfth annual Northern Lit Award. The Northern Lit Award will recognize the outstanding contribution Northern Ontario authors make to Northern culture.

2017 Shortlisted Titles


English Fiction
  • Chalk – Doug Diaczuk
  • Wenjack – Joseph Boyden
  • Grace and the Secret Vault – Ruth Latta
  • Somewhere Picking Dandelions – Diana Douglas
  • Rule of Seconds – Shawna Diane Partridge
Louise de Kiriline Lawrence (English Nonfiction)
  • Killarney – Gustav A. Richar
  • The Dependent – Danielle Daniel
  • The Reason You Walk – Wab Kinew
  • Alone Against the North – Adam Shoalts


2016 Northern Lit Winners


English Fiction

Amy Jones, We're All In This Together, McClelland & Stewart.


Louise de Kiriline Lawrence (English Nonfiction)

Laura E. Young, Solo Yet Never Alone: Swimming the Great Lakes, Latitude 46.


Northern Lit Awards - Past Winners 

© 2016 Ontario Library Service - North. All Rights Reserved. Designed By JoomShaper